top of page

The World of 7 Chakras - An Introduction

Updated: Oct 16, 2023

The Primary Universal Elements are 5 and out of their 120 various types of permutations and combinations comes the Universe of objects within which we as humans are included.

These 5 Primary Elements–Earth, Water, Fire, Wind and Space are reflected within the human body as the 5 major Sentient Life-forces or the 5 Pranas-namely Prana, Apana, Vyana, Samana and Udana. Our bodies are comprised of 5 integrated levels called Coverings or Koshas and the Pranas and Chakras or Circles are concerned with the second of the 5 Koshas, the Pranamaya Kosha, or the Illusionary Covering of Sentient Life-Force, quite a mouthful of a term.

The 7 Chakras , Muladhra, Svadhistana, Manipura, Anahata, Vishuddhi, Ajna and Sahasrara
7 Chakras Colors along the Central Channel

The Pranas run in and out of the Chakras through sentient channels called Nadis. Now, the important thing to remember is that the Prana energy is not just energy, it is sentient energy. And that means it is PROTHOUGHT and PRO ENERGY at the same time. By this we mean that the Prana forces and their movement in the sentient Nadis form the blueprints or dynamic moulds [PROTHOUGHT and PRONERGY] for manifest thoughts, emotions, feelings and the bio-energy of the physical body.

The Chakras are therefore to be thought of as imaginary points along the axis of our bodies where the Prana forces and consciousness traits are collected and generated. The Chakras are like the H..Q.s of the different levels of an integrated system. The system is our body-mind complex and the different levels are the types of consciousness we have access to and systemic body processes that are controlled through the nerve ganglions connected to the CNS [ Central Nervous System].

We need to understand that the Chakras are not just suddenly turned on at some point in our lives, if ever. The fact is that the Chakras are always on, if they were not, we would be dead. But in most of us, only a few sectors of two-three Chakras are open.

Kundalini rising, activates entire Chakra complexes, not just individual sectors of a Chakra. The cognitive and perceptive experience of such an event is so intense and different from anything experienced till that moment, that the Kundalini rising is justifiably termed an ‘awakening’.

So, what then is Kundalini-it is nothing but the collected bundle of Pranas in the body. Usually, only one-three Pranas are dominant in our body-minds and these Pranas are not acting in a collected manner, so at any time we usually have only one Prana force activating one-three sectors of a couple of Chakras.

When the Pranas are collected, they cannot travel through the normal Nadi system. The collected Pranas, called Kundalini is forced to rise through the only available Nadi, i.e., the Sushumna.

As the Kundalini sentient force rises through the Sushumna, sentience or consciousness is made to collide with and activate the different levels of manifestation based on bio-energy.

The effects of Chakra activation are not just the most intense and transporting experiences of one’s life, but more practically, an ever-increasing creativity, willpower and ability to put into action one’s ideas.

The 7 Chakras are divided into three groups called Brama Mandala/ Loka [Creative Matrix], Vishnu Mandala/ Loka [ Stasis Matrix] and Shiva Mandala/ Loka [Absorption Matrix]. But normally these Mandalas or Lokas/ Worlds are sealed off and we have access only to the Bhu Loka which means the Earth World or the world of self-constructed ego, the normal everyday world we are all used to. Our world appears to us as it is, within the limitations of our ego construct. Change the construct and you change the perception and experience of your world. Complete opening of a single Chakra completely transforms the personality and character traits, leading to self-willed evolution.

reflection of a tree on water, representing the clear mind that congnises clearly

Proper functioning of the Chakras leads, in the physical context, to a vital immune system, balanced hormonal regulation, healthy BMR [Basal Metabolic Rate, high levels of blood and tissue oxygenation and overall peak state of homoeostasis. In fact, proper balance of the Chakras, a near impossibility, confers extended life spans, theoretically unlimited in span of time.

In the second Chakra series article we will go into the description of the 7 Chakras, their properties and powers. The third and last of the Chakra series articles will introduce the reader to different extant techniques of Kundalini collection and Chakra activation.

106 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page